Stefan Soltesz
 
Deutsch

BIOGRAPHY


Conductor Stefan Soltesz was born in Nyireyhaza (Hungary) in 1949 and moved as a child to Vienna. He studied conducting with Hans Swarowsky at the Vienna Academy of Music, where he also had training in composition and piano. His artistic career was launched in 1971, as conductor at the Theater an der Wien, followed by engagements as coach and conductor at the Vienna State Opera (1973-1983) and as guest conductor at the Opera House in Graz (1979-1981). During three editions of the Salzburg Festival, in 1978, 1979 and 1983, he worked as a musical assistant to Karl Böhm, Christoph von Dohnányi and Herbert von Karajan.

Stefan Soltesz held the position of regular conductor at the Hamburg State Opera (1983-1985) and at the Deutsche Oper Berlin (1985-1997). He served as gerneral music director of the State Theatre Brunswick from 1988-1993 and as chief conductor of the Flemish Opera in Antwerp and Ghent from 1992-97. From 1997 to 2013 he has served as the general music director of the Essener Philharmoniker and as artistic director of the Essen opera house Aalto Theater.

Stefan Soltesz is a frequent guest conductor at the Vienna State Opera and at the major opera houses of Germany, for instance in Berlin, Dresden, Hamburg and Munich. He also appears at Netherlands Opera Amsterdam, Bilbao Opera, Paris Opéra, Royal Opera House Covent Garden in London, Bolshoi Teatre Moscow, Teatr Wielki in Warsaw, Teatro Bellini in Catania, Teatro Colónin Buenos Aires, Washington and San Francisco opera houses, Zürich Opera, Grand Theatre de Geneve, Niki-Kai Opera Tokyo, Teatro dell´ Opera Roma and Hungarian State Opera in Budapest and at the festivals in Montpellier, Aix-en-Provence, Baden-Baden and Savonlinna (Finland).

Stefan Soltesz has led radio performance and concerts in Berlin, Dresden, Genoa, Hanover, Hamburg, Milan, Munich, Paris, Rome, Palermo, Turin, Nagoya, Budapest, Vienna and Moscow. His discography includes operas by Giacomo Puccini, Giuseppe Gazzaniga and Alexander von Zemlinsky, as well as varios symphonic works. His recent recording of music by Alban Berg and Hans Werner Henze won a Grammy nomination as well as an ICMA nomination. Strauss´ "Salome" from the Baden- Baden festival and Debussy´s "Pelléas et Mélisande" from Aalto Teater were published as DVD.

Stefan Soltesz holds Austrian citizenship and lives in Berlin.

2015

Stefan Soltesz
 
English

BIOGRAPHIE


Stefan Soltesz, österreichischer Dirigent ungarischer Herkunft, studierte an der Wiener Hochschule für Musik und darstellende Kunst Dirigieren bei Hans Swarowsky sowie Komposition und Klavier.

Nach Stationen als Dirigent in Wien und Graz und als musikalischer Assistent von Karl Böhm, Christoph von Dohnányi und Herbert von Karajan bei den Salzburger Festspielen war er von 1983 bis 1985 ständiger Dirigent der Hamburgischen Staatsoper. In gleicher Position war er von 1985 bis 1997 an der Deutschen Oper Berlin tätig. Als Generalmusikdirektor wirkte er von 1988 bis 1993 am Staatstheater Braunschweig und ist dort heute Ehrendirigent. Von 1992 bis 1997 hatte er die Position des Chefdirigenten der Flämischen Oper Antwerpen/Gent inne. Von 1997 bis 2013 war er in Personalunion Generalmusikdirektor der Essener Philharmoniker und Intendant des Essener Aalto-Musiktheaters.

Stefan Soltesz dirigiert regelmäßig als Gast an der Wiener Staatsoper sowie an den großen Opernhäusern Deutschlands, u.a. den Staatsopern in München, Hamburg, Berlin und Dresden.

Ebenfalls gastierte er an der Pariser Oper, der Nederlandse Opera Amsterdam, am Royal Opera House Covent Garden London, an der Römischen Oper, der Staatsoper Budapest, dem Teatro Bellini Catania, am Teatr Wielki Warschau, an der Washington Opera und der San Francisco Opera, am Opernhaus Zürich, am Grad Theatre de Geneve, am Teatro Colón Buenos Aires, der Niki-Kai Opera in Tokyo sowie bei den Festivals in Montpellier, Aix-en-Provence, Savonlinna (Finnland), beim Richard-Strauss- Festival in Garmisch und den Pfingstfestspielen in Baden-Baden.

Sinfoniekonzerte und Rundfunkaufnahmen dirigierte Stefan Soltesz u.a. in München, Hamburg, Hannover, Dresden, Berlin, Saarbrücken, Mannheim, Chemnitz, Wien, Rom, Catania, Mailand, Genua, Basel, Bern, Paris, Budapest, Nagoya und Palermo.

Seine CD-Einspielungen umfassen u.a. Opern von Giacomo Puccini, Giuseppe Gazzaniga und Alexander von Zemlinsky, Arien und Lieder mit Grace Bumbry, Lucia Popp und Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau. Seine Aufnahme von Alban Bergs "Lulu-Suite" und Hans Werner Henzes Orchesterwerk "Appassionatamente plus" mit den Essener Philharmonikern wurde für den Grammy nominiert. Auf DVD liegen Live-Mitschnitte von Strauss´ "Salome" bei den Pgingstfestspielen Baden-Baden sowie Debussys "Pelléas et Mélisande" aus dem Aalto-Theater Essen vor.

Neben zahlreichen weiteren Auszeichnungen wurde Stefan Soltesz der Titel eines Professors honoris causa vom Land Nordrhein-Westfalen verliehen. Stefan Soltesz lebt in Berlin.